End of an era :-(the

This is either Samson or Goliath, one of the 2 huge cranes at Harland and Wolff shipyard in Belfast. The firm has just gone into administration.
These cranes have been a part of the Belfast skyline since 1976, and apparently, regardless of the fate of the shipyard, they will remain, they have protected status.
We went up to Belfast this afternoon, a slightly delayed anniversary celebration! It was our 36th anniversary on Tuesday, but it was too wet to wander around Belfast, we waited for the sunshine :-). We had a lovely meal in Mumbai 27, an Indian restaurant in the Cathedral Quarter, fabulous food! As we wandered back to the car we saw a lot of young people heading towards an event in Custom House Square, I was at least 45 years too late I think!!! I found it rather frightening though, and as I watched all those young people all I could think was how vulnerable they were, so many were already drunk before they had even arrived at the event. I enjoy a glass of wine or a cocktail, but if I've had a good time, I want to be able to remember it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.