MyLifeMirror

By MyLifeMirror

Little Things

August 7th 2019 was a milestone day here.
B told me that my hair looked pretty today.
It was the first time in 39 years – without being asked of course.
At least the first time that I recall since I don’t really focus on those things.
When I asked him why he mentioned it – paraphrasing, he said it was to try to catch up on all the compliments I have given him over the years.
I think it was because yesterday was a very bad day (no real sleep the previous night) for me and I was struggling to hide it.
I was on the edge of a meltdown.
It sounds like no big deal but it really is a big deal to me.
It means he cares about my feelings on some level.
ALS tends to erase empathy in its victims.
And I do understand that- intellectually.
It’s always the little things that matter, my friends.
Don’t delay joy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.