Vines, grapes and Nao Victoria

Another early morning swim at Les Paulilles and I paid more attention to the vines as I made my way to the beach via the back way.  Our local newspaper - L'Independant - has announced that one of the Pays Catalan vineyards has started harvesting their grapes this past Monday.  I wonder if this is a record?

On the way home I took a diversion to Porte Vendres to look at the  Nao Victoria - a replica of the ship that Magellan sailed around the world for the first time in 1519 - although he died on the way.  Five ships set out, and only one survived with a crew of 17.  The rest of the crews either died or stopped off along the way.  This replica has also circumnavigated the globe, although they did use the Suez and Panama Canals!  I think that is allowable!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.