But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Hover Fly.

Again, a late posting, so little to say other than that I was wandering around the garden trying to get a sharp image without using flash, I have a sneaking suspicion that I was using a tripod.
 
No doubt someone will complain at my writing "hover fly" as two words, some grammar checkers seem to think it should be only one. I have a biology teacher friend who insists that it is two and quotes precedents for this; the gist of her argument is that the word "fly", in this context, is a noun while the word hover is an adjective and we are not in the habit of merging adjective and verb in the English language. After all, we don’t write “mountain hare” or “brown dog” as one word; one the other hand, “dragonfly” and “butterfly” are both one word as they are not flies. I raise this point as this blip may, or may not be used for a nature competition and judges are notorious for not knowing what they are seeing, particularly those that claim expertise in the field.
For the benefit of bee keeping friends, the same argument applies to both "bee keeper" and "honey bee".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.