KateH

By KateH

Turner’s studio

We went to Petworth to avoid the wind - I hate wind, it makes me twitchy and nervy. Seems to do the same to the dog as well. As the house was largely shut for a family wedding, well THE family wedding given it was the elder son and heir, they opened what they call ‘Turner’s Studio’ as recompense. It’s actually the old faded library at the top of the house but Turner did indeed paint there on his annual holiday at Petworth. It features in Mike Leigh’s film Mr Turner and a slightly scrubby half painted canvas in the corner was painted by Tim Spall in the film. But I really liked its dusty quietude and this corner with statue, gilded books a the little portrait in oils.

It was only after I took this I saw the ‘no photography’ signs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.