Dreich

There is an onomatapoeic quality to this popular Scottish term.

It's always a rush on Sunday because Mrs SJR and I go down and do odd jobs for my Mum.
We took her up to Aldi and M and S. She understanadably likes to select things for herself. Going round the aisles I recognised a face I hadn't seen in years. It was J from Morar, a landlady at lodgings for myself and a cplleague when working there 93/94.  She became a friend and in her professional position was the Registrar who performed our wedding service a couple of years later.
I felt embarrassed at how I had allowed contact to slip, (and I have often worked in nearby Mallaig since then). We chatted just like we had spoken yesterday. In my mind  her children are still at the later stages of secondary school but she reminded me of their ages and that she now has 6 grand children. She had obviously car shared for the shopping trip to Fort William and I sensed her driver for the day was getting impatient but she didn't cut our chat short because of that. She always had a pleasant calm manner. It was a lovely chance meeting. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.