Wish You Were Here

We were invited to Jason's birthday party. He's our keyboard player in the Commitments and he also does a monthly jam at the Ring of Bells. It's not usually this week but he decided he'd like to put on a special one so he could invite all his friends. Great! I'd had a quick run through of a couple of numbers I wanted to sing with him earlier in the week so I was ready to do something I hadn't done before.

When I saw the post on Facebook and learnt that my old DJ mate died, I left a message about our friendship. Today I had a Facebook message from a young woman (well, she was a young woman then) who used to come to the club and had seen my post. She said that Richard and I had been part of her great teenage memories. Because of a couple of things she said, I remembered her and she also posted a picture from those days. I think this picture was from after I'd left the club and was working in West London with my own Roadshow (as the larger mobile setups where called in those days). I'd been booked to play on the main stage at my old club and this must have been the greeting I got from Richard when I climbed up into the DJ booth. It must have been 1975. I've posted it as an extra, that's me on the left.

Anyway, we had a great night tonight with lots of different people singing and playing. I did 'Handbags and Gladrags' a la Stereophonics and a Paul Weller song, 'You Do Something To Me'. They both went pretty well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.