Ursonate

By Ursonate17

Marcel Duchamp called him...

...The cheerful ploughman of magnetic fields.

A productive day titivating and photographing five new creatures who appeared this week - one debuts above.

As a reward I’d promised myself a long bathe in Tate Modern, open late tonight and crowd-free.
Of the four artists with solo shows, I chose first Takis, a Greek sculptor who devoted his 70 year career to exploring the creative potential of electromagnetism.
I knew little of Takis, so dived nervously into a dim landscape of elegant forms, initially figurative, increasingly abstract - each piece built around inexplicable tensions expressed luminously, sculpturally, sonically ...waveform theatre.
Architecture often strives to defeat gravity, but all the extreme cantilevers, skyhooks, smoke and mirrors come nowhere near the fragile weightlessness of tethered, quivering forms in Takis’ installations.
I was gone, awed child-like by the magic of the energy waves filling the room.

After an hour of ambling backwards and forwards, lost in this artist’s joyful exploration of the infinite phenomenology of our world, a warder came up to me, kindly whispering in my ear that she thought I needed to know that Takis had died, aged 93 just last night.

Rest in peace Takis, knowing that your energy continues to flow through this remarkable body of work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.