"The Earl of Eldon"

This magnificent steam traction engine was broken down at the side of the road as I swept past
Imagine my joy when I found a lay-by only a few metres away and could stop.

The problem was water in the oil box and it had to be laboriously pumped out and then topped up with fresh oil.

The engine is a 1910 Garrett 7nhp (nominal horsepower) General Purpose Traction Engine 'The Earl Of Eldon', works No 28758 built in 1910 reg no FX7 239.

It was used until 1947 for various tasks, depending on the season.
Uses included hauling logs to the saw mill, then powering the saw, driving a threshing machine, etc.

While researching the engine online, I realised that I had seen it before many, many years ago, garaged in a building not far from where I lived.


I found an article describing how, on his death, the coffin of a previous owner was carried in the trailer behind the engine.


Way to go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.