Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

Fallow Field

It's the tourist season so the main roads are chocker. In order to get from A to B in a reasonable amount of time, I cut across country and down lanes not on my usual route.
It was a lovely surprise to catch a glimpse of a sea of yellow and very pleased to find a little parking spot so that I could investigate further.
A farmer has left this part of the field fallow this year ( not growing a crop on it) but all the past crops were in evidence, the most striking of which were the huge discs of sunflowers.
Timing for once, seemed in my favour.  As the sun came out and with the heads facing me, I could include the ridge of Dartmoor Tors , so familiar to all of us living in this part of Devon.
I strolled around the edge of the field for a while and suddenly caught sight of a Painted Lady butterfly. These have been spotted in their thousands further up the country but this was the first I've seen this year.
Rain has since swept in again and we are apparently due another deluge overnight. I feel so sorry for all of the tourists who are camping. Not my idea of fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.