OlyShipp

By OlyShipp

Golden postbox

I cycle past this postbox every day, but hadn't even noticed it had been painted gold after the Olympics. This is what I love about Blipfoto - I'm more alert to my everyday surroundings.

Having taken the photo, I felt compelled to know its story. I found it celebrates Lily van den Broecke from nearby Headington, the cox in the gold medal-winning mixed coxed four in the paralympic rowing.

The design also interested me - it seems to be a short-lived 1970s version which is not particularly attractive or in keeping with the Victorian houses around - but it appears to be quite rare (not even listed on the Bath Postal Museum's website!), and the gold is definitely an improvement.

I don't normally use flash, especially on my cheap little pocket camera - but I think it works well with the gold colour here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.