Picture this..

By northernlass261

In a scrape

Wet and damp all day.

We walked around to our local barber and I waited whilst Alan had his hair cut (not much to take off!) and then we went to the Cafe next door for coffee.   The best coffee we have had since returning from Spain so we usually go there after the barbers.

This afternoon we were having a technician calling to repair the coffee table top after I had accidentally knocked nail varnish remover over it.   He was happy for me to take photos and explained each procedure as he was doing it.   The main picture shows him scraping off the finish, (we were a bit worried at first) after which he dusted, sprayed with what smelled like Yorkshire mixtures (boiled sweets from childhood) more dusting and spraying.   In extras you can see the finished result.   Apparently, as it is Oak it will blend in to it's original colour with normal daylight in a few months.   It is to be left until Saturday to be waxed.   He did tell me how to apply and use the wax polish differently to how it says on the tin!

It is one of those occasions when I am glad I took out the 5 years accidental cover.   The whole process of claming and making an appointment has been so easy and no quibble at all.

I think we were very lucky with the guy who came as he used to be a cabinet maker.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.