CameraColin

By MrColinWilson

Greyfriars Bobby

I made time to escape the confines of my office for lunch today and had a pleasant stroll over to the Mosque Kitchen for a quick curry. I was missing my pal Eck who normally helps me get through the huge portions served there!
Todays highlight was a old chap dressed in full highland dress tearing up the Royal Mile in a motorized wheelchair at what seemed like about 20mph! He was holding a collection tin in one hand and it sounded like he was collecting for a veterans charity, although you'd have to be pretty quick on your feet to make a donation!!
The photo is of Greyfriars Bobby, the wee Skye Terrier who rose to fame in the 19th century after spending 14 years guarding the grave of his master John (Auld Jock) Gray until his own death on Jan 14th 1872.
This statue was erected the following year to commemorate him.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.