The Chapel of Rest in the old cemetery

I took a camera with me today as I did a daily walk around the new cemetery and along Horns Road. As I entered the gate from close to our house you get this view uphill of the Chapel of Rest sited at the top of the old cemetery, on the far side of Horns Road. 

Stroud Preservation Trust of which I am a trustee are involved with the local community to find a possible new use for the Chapel which the District Council wants to dispose of. I am going to prepare a range of images of the Chapel for any fund raising prospectus we prepare once there is an agreed way forward. 

It is a building that can be seen for miles around as it stands near the top of the hill running out of Stroud. It is listed but being of an unusual shape it will prove a challenge to give it a new use.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.