Toots in Solitude

By Toots

The Best Portrait Photographer, ever

Chris Close has been taking photos of Authors for the Edinburgh Book Festival for 11 years now and has produced well over 1,000 portraits.
Part of the reason I always look forward to a wander around the Book Festival is to look at the gallery of portraits. I always enjoy them so much and like to see how each character is portrayed, always in an individual way, by Chris.
Well, today I did meet the photographer Chris and what a really nice person he is. It was so interesting to hear about his work and his encounters with these various authors.
I didn’t know before but he said he has a little gallery in Howe Street, so I shall look out for that.

Later Donald and I went to see 'Shine' for second time at the Southside Zoo venue. I got even more out of it this time and we had really good blethers with Olivier and Tiia-Mari after. Such a lovely, lovely talented couple.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.