janetconboy1

By imagine_snappy

Blipless in Bella Vista

So busy today. I set up a room for a colleague to hold a meeting, ran around looking at flooring to make my house cat proof and talked with a dear friend who recently received the kind of news we all dread. Now, I’m waiting for the floor guy to come by to measure, so that Maui may take me on a walk.

Cyndi called to tell me that I looked and sounded better than I had in quite awhile. She’s a motherer for those in her sphere. Naturally, I asked how she was/is. Long and short, she has cancer of the bone and blood, they think. One more test. She lives alone, quite a ways out from me. Just about to turn 60. Cyndi is angry. Wants that feeling to disappear. We talked about how anger comes with the territory as we begin grieving for ourselves. Said I love her, will do anything to support her. She’s somewhat estranged from her family in Florida but has us. Will always have us. The Us I’m referring to is her Fellow AA members.

And so, it goes. I need a bit of time to process. The busyness in my life seems to be a luxury problem, as those of us in the Fellowship like to call it. It’s not new flooring that will make me happy. It’s always the connections to others and the Universe. And, of course, blipping.

No current blip for today, just a new and improved version of a Frank Lloyd Wright clerestory, part of a house on the grounds of Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art in Bentonville. The edited greens and blues on the glass panes are reflections of life all around the house. Somehow the blip resonated in me on this day, in my story, with deep gratitude.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.