Grand Explore

It feels like we're really getting to know the central streets of St Petersburg yet tonight we found another atmospheric road we hadn't been down. That was after we had the most amazing experience in Russian restaurant, Tsar. With the national anthem blasted at 9pm, erotic classical (maybe?/is that possible?!) wallpaper in the bathrooms, thrones for toilets and a postcard sent wherever you choose at the end of the meal, you can maybe see why I've not mentioned the food yet. And that was incredible!

We had a taster menu of all things Russian from caviar to salted fish, dumplings to borsch and sterlet to Kiev. Rich managed to put away my share of vodkas and his own before we had a quick visit to see the inside of the jaw dropping Cathedral of Spilled Blood which was wonderfully quiet at 9pm. We then enjoyed a night stroll along the waterfront of the Hermitage, through Palace Square and home for well needed feet up.

It's been an active day but we've rested plenty including on a boat trip around the River Neva.  The afternoon we spent with our guide, Luba, around the city and to Peter and Paul Fortress, nipping in and out of the car and dodging the odd rain shower.

I was hoping for some rain for a few reasons: I tested out my cornstarch poncho which didn't dissolve (against everyone's expectations); I saw water flowing out of the massive drainpipes; and I enjoyed some night photography with puddles. 

Who knows what I'll blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.