discovery

I remember drawing apple trees when I was about 5 years old - a green blob on a brown stalk, with lots of red blobby apples...suddenly our apples trees are groaning under the weight of those blobby apples. The ones in the photo are Discoveries, which I never usually pick until the end of August, but lots of them have been blown off the trees recent high winds. I rescued a few from the feasting wasps and put them in tonight's curry to add a nice sweetness.

I also picked a lot of the apricots from our greenhouse, as I had noticed small holes appearing in some of them. While I was picking them, a mouse ran off down the tree and a wasp flew out and stung me on the face. The perils of the harvest! I went inside to swab the sting with cider vinegar. Thankfully I'm not allergic to wasp stings and the pain soon wore off.

I'm writing this after eating the curry and before eating a big bowl of apricots with coconut yogurt and walnuts.

Time for dessert!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.