Broad-leaved Helleborine

Another dank and miserable day, feeling more like October than July. Despite some misgivings, I headed to Whisby Nature Park near Lincoln to do some reconnaissance, prior to leading a Wildflower Society field meeting there in the coming week. I hadn't realised quite how large the site was, but managed to cover quite a lot of it, and to find both the Green-flowered Helleborines (see extra) and Broad-leaved Helleborines that had been advertised as one of the attractions. This particular flower is an unusual chlorotic variety of Broad-leaved Helleborine, which lacks any reddish pigment. 

Although it had been gloomy all day, I'd avoided any serious rainfall, but as I drove home the rain gradually increased. Apparently it had rained steadily all day in Peterborough, so for once I did the right thing by heading north!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.