Retro

Opened the front door and the smell of the baking bread hit me - it was a lovely loaf too - very well risen but not full of air. I do use a bread maker now - I can make it the old way but not worth it for one small loaf.
Why retro? look behind the loaf. I got fed up with the temperamental digital scales - either they needed a new battery every few months or the screen wouldn't display out in the conservatory because it was too hot, or they just weren't working properly - I weighed something out the other day (in the cool kitchen) - it said it was 100g - I didn't believe it, it was much more than that - so I put onto the scale a 4oz and a 2oz weight (weights and measures official stamped) which converts to 168g - the scale read 103g! 
That's it, I thought, I'm going back to proper scales! So I got this one - takes me back to my working life - but I did buy metric weights (I do still have some imperial ones because I have the 'person' weighing beam scale that was in the shop)
I'm happy now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.