Corgarff Castle

On our way to Tomintoul we stopped at Corgarff for a snack. After the drive from Aberdeen I was feeling quite hungry and it was almost lunchtime. The cafe was busy with tourists on a highland trail, including cyclists and bikers.

Shortly after leaving the cafe we stopped for a view of Corgarff Castle. It was raining at the time so it was a brief stop. Then continuing onwards towards Tomintoul. The A939 is possibly one of the most picturesque roads I know. It is worth taking it slowly to enjoy the views, but everybody behind me seemed to be in a hurry.

We made a fairly short stop in Tomintoul, it was breezy with a cold wind which did not encourage us to linger. Onwards to our afternoon coffee stop at the cafe in the Glenlivet Distillery. After a leisurely coffee, quite a few foreign tourists here too, I veered into the distillery shop where I indulged in a bottle.

The distillery is in a fairly remote setting, and I wondered if this distillery was one that was originally hidden from view to evade the attention of the dreaded excise man. 

Back in time for a quick visit to a shop to buy something for dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.