Craig's Journal

By Fishingplus

World Photography Day

It is world photography day! Who knew? I guess, not me, but I think it is a great thing to support, since photography and my cameras mean a lot to me. My photo of the day is the window of a Taco Bell restaurant showcasing a world-class variety of foods. It seems like there is something very appropriate about food for world photography day, since everyone has to eat, and most enjoy it. Sharing food is another way of showing love at a very practical level, especially to others in need.

I have taken photos since a very young age, but at various seasons of my life have gotten away from it, lack of time, resources, or whatever. Now that I have retired from daily work, I am blessed to have the time and resources to invest in photography and improving my skills. I think Jerry Garcia of the Grateful Dead, a very accomplished guitar player is quoted as saying "someday I hope to play the guitar." That is a bit of how I feel about photography - I don't liken myself to Jerry, but I think I have something of an eye for what a photo should/could be when I see it.

I also went to one of Thorsten Overgaard's workshops in London in May of 2018. Met some wonderful folks attending the seminar with me, and became even more motivated to improve my photography skills. Thorsten is a very interesting guy, who is a great photographer and thinks and writes deeply about photography, but I think his main skill when you attend his workshop is motivation. His key phrase is "always wear a camera" and I have ever since. I put a couple flashback pictures from that workshop in London in the extras. Since I am from the LA area in the US, and the extras were taken in London, they demonstrate how photography can expand one's view or the world and viewpoint as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.