OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

White-tailed Eagles

The chick was nowhere in sight and nor were the adults all morning. Just after 12, visitors to the Dwarfie Stane said they'd seen an eagle on the cliff and I saw it fly briefly only to be mobbed mercilessly by at least 8 ravens . So I got the scope on it and a fair few people had a look, then I lost it again. That was it for a while then the female appeared over the cliff carrying prey- a feed for the youngster. I expected her to drop to the glen floor where the chick has been for a week, but it dropped the food on the cliff near the top and I saw the chick. It shows that its flying is improving if it can move on and off the cliff now. I thought it was circling with the female just before I left, and it may have been, but the ones in the shot are the two adults, with the male above the female.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.