madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Japanese Day

How apt that on WorldPhotographyDay I was in the village hall photographing a Japanese Day put on by Nellie of the Woods! 
So first what photography means to me. In one way I owe my existence to it as my parents met at a photography club! I  watched my parents take photographs and once I had a camera as a child I've been taking photos ever since! Since blipfoto it has become a daily activity and one that gives me daily pleasure. Photography, blipfoto and other blippers have also seen me though the worst of times and continue to support me as I try to regain balance in my life.
Today was a typical example of this support. I wasn't feeling great but I've learnt getting out and doing things is good for me, so I was determined to attend this event and photograph it as requested by Nellie. I got off to a late start as whilst walking Oscar in the woods I got a message and call from my neighbour and fellow coop member - her car had got stuck on the allotment! I wasn't sure quite what she intended me to do about it - I have no idea if my car is a 4by4 nor had a place where a rope could be attached. I have never pulled a car before and didn't have a rope anyway! Being in the woods reception was bad and communication patchy! I suggested she asked the guy in the garage opposite the allotment, and finally got a message saying she asked but he couldn't help. I did manange to contact The Intense One as she has a landrover and messaged Neighbour to say she could help, but then lost signal! Just as I was coming back into a palce with a signal I realised I'd dropped my cardigan so had to walk all the way back up into the woods! By this point I couldn't have cared less what was happpening with her car and wondered why I had allowed myself to get so caught up in trying to help! By the time I had retrieved my cardigan and got back into signal I found she had got someone to help!
So a shower then to the Village Hall! I bumped into so many people I knew and hadn't seen in ages - the artist Masako, who had an invitation for me to her next showing, and my old Tai Chi teacher, whose new class I shall now be joining in January! I met him and his wife when they came to our school during our Japanese week -  they did a beautiful foot massage session for my class. It was  his wife that i went to for Reflexology last year! He was feeling a bit jet lagged as he had just returned from Japan! He is a dancer and choreographer. When my mum became ill I gave up going as everything got too much, but  it's definitly time I started again, particularly as I've not been folowing the YouTube lessons I found! I also met someone I had met over 10 years ago when she  had done some drama workshops at my school. She and her partner had been held hostage for 14 months in Chechnya in 1997.They are part of The Forgiveness Project that aims to help people comes to terms with their own traumas. She has been battling cancer for many years and is now accepting of the fact it may be time for palliative care. It is heartbreaking that such a gentle yet immensely strong person should have had a life so ravaged. I also spoke to Homeopathic Girl and discovered her husband had had a mild stroke. He was dealing with it and was quite dismissive of it, but she was obviously shaken and deeply upset about it.It is the first time she has spoken about it to others and I don't think she would have said anything had I not pressed her when she had replied unconvincingly to my enquiry of "How are things?" He has  a check up tomorrow to see how the drugs he is on are working. Apparently his famly have a history of high blood pressure. Other peoples lives eh? Never what they appear to be on the surface, mine included.
The event was the most interesting and beautiful Nellie has held so far. There was a wonderful balance of activities for children and adults, and in fact I think everyone tried everything regardless of their age! The most popular was the Sushi tables - for 4 hours it was non-stop sushi making! People were dressed in Kimonos, took part in a Japanese tea ceremony, did writing and played games! All can be seen here if you like! 
I managed to stay for 2 hours chatting and taking photos, before heading home with the sushi I made to take Oscar to the field! 
So once more my camera got me out and I had a sociable and interesting experience and had great fun trying to capture the event. I loved this woman doing the tea ceremony!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.