Sonset25

By Sonset25

Goodbyes

Today was my last tutoring session with Vanessa, my delightful Spanish student. Along with conversation practice she's been reading the graphic novel Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi. Vanessa is dyslexic and text in speech bubbles has made reading easier though to be honest she rarely makes any mistakes. We finished the book.  Vanessa in our previous session had expressed that she'd never possessed or even read a graphic novel before.  To rectify this, as a parting gift I gave her a copy of the full Persepolis story as the first part leaves the reader hankering for a wish tyo know what happened next.
Vanessa was moved to tears by my gesture. This ending being keenly felt by both of us. So with hugs, drying eyes and pledges to keep in touch via WhatsApp we went our separate ways. 
Vanessa has been my second tutoring experience this year. My first being two Japanese boys. It's rewarding and I learn too from my students but the goodbyes are sad.
My blip by the river in lieu of the sea helped settle my mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.