Dunottar Castle

A visit to Dunottar castle fortress today. Nice summer day for a change to justify a walk in the open air.

Lots of tourists here, mostly from Europe (Italian and French) but a few Japanese. Looks like everybody must have arrived by car as there was no sign of any coaches, the car park was almost full and the snacks caravan seemed to be doing good business, probably trying to make up for the many bleak days when the weather is not so good.

A history of the fortress can be found here. It is many years since I was last here, and the facilities, including the parking arrangements, are much more organised than when I was last here. The castle will have received publicity from some of the films which have been filmed here. (The last time I was here I was asked if I was connected with a film by somebody who was doing some publicity for the film which had been completed recently).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.