A brief history of wine

I took Rich on an MMT this evening - a talk on the history of wine along with wine tasting.  It's our village festival this week and I spotted a few weeks ago that this met the essential criteria of a Magical Mystery Tour.  I'm an exceptionally lightweight drinker so I had a few sips of each one and donated the rest to Rich... double MMT, right?!

It was a fascinating talk. He left us with this quote:

On the consumption of wine:
"Three bowls only do I serve for the temperate:
one for health, which they empty first;
the second for love and pleasure;
and the third for sleep.
When this bowl is drunk up, wise guests go home.
The fourth bowl is ours no longer, but belongs to violence;
the fifth to uproar;
the sixth to drunken revel;
the seventh to black eyes;
the eighth is the policeman's;
the ninth belongs to billiousness;
and the tenth to madness and hurling the furniture."
- Eubulus (circa 375 B.C.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.