and through the wire...

By hesscat

@Efterklang - Du Er Fri? #edintfest

It's been almost 7 years since we last saw Efterklang, a Danish band I had originally first seen and heard at the Greenman Festival in 2010. I had just been doing my regular walks between the stages and Efterklang were the last headliner of the festival that year, just before the fireworks, and I walked in and Batman was being invited up on to the stage to dance with them. Everybody was smiling and happy, I had not been to a gig that had so much positive energy before... it really resonated with me,

On returning home I began to discover their music and enjoyed it and over the next couple of years they made 2 films (which we showed at Moorflix) about how they make their music and we saw them twice more... and then they sort of ended, although more working on different projects together.

Then this year they were announced for the Edinburgh Festival at my new favourite venue the Leith Theatre, and a new album coming out so obvs were were going. But I'd almost forgotten how great their gigs were but when I was discussing them with Ms H, who was seeing them for the first time, I recalled Batman and being happy, and wasn't sure if I'd get that over to her or if she would feel it.

So we got 2 sets, 1st was their new album, and I am looking forward to hearing those songs again, and then some of their older songs. Ms H was at the front, nodding away during it, singing along to some songs in Danish we had no idea what the words were, but everyone was singing them, and at the end turned around to say it was one of the best gigs she's been to and she felt so happy! Wow, I was not expecting that, it took me by surprise. The mixture of the beautiful melodies and the musician's respect for each other and their audience just takes it all to another level.

I tried to translate one of the lyrics we were singing without knowing how to spell it - we think it was Du Er Fri ... You Are Free, which entirely fits with what they might sing about... we'll see next month when the album comes out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.