tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Feasting

Took the dog for a longer walk, one of my favourites, along the ancient pilgrims' way beside the Nevern river, Afon Nyfer. The path dips up and down  beside the chuckling water. Footworn steps are hollowed out of bedrock high above, elsewhere the water almost laps the path. At one such point I spotted a garland of oyster mushroom around a semi-submerged log. Picking them required a cool and welcome paddle. They'll make a nice supper dish 'for later'.

It's peak blackberry season and as I walked I often stopped to cram my mouth with the juicy drupelets.  Raki was more excited about the half-full packet of butter shortbread we found, dropped by a walker or an angler. Neither of us normally indulge in biscuits so it was a treat for both (she had the soggy ends.)

Arriving at the village of Nevern we found the place quiet and peaceful as usual but its famous church, noted for a variety of unique features, was inaccessible today. A hearse was parked outside and black clad undertakers lounged in the sun. The deceased must have been a notable figure or village worthy because the roads were lined with parked cars. As we passed the church hall I noticed through the windows women in pinnies hoisting kettles and I guessed they were preparing the mourners' refreshments.  A little further on the doors of the village hall stood invitingly open. and I wandered in thinking there might be a display of local arts and crafts, as is often the case in summer. The place was deserted but instead of pots and paintings there were groaning boards  - the funeral tea,  completely unguarded!  Evidently the work of many capable hands each offering was temptingly labelled. (See extra) Well, it was with great fortitude that I turned away empty handed - it would have been so easy to help myself.

On the way back I came upon another, smaller feast. I noticed a white butterfly snared by a spider web and as I bent to free it the spider got there first. Disabled by the venomous bite the 'fly continued fluttering for a few seconds while the spider with speedy efficiency immobilised its victim in tight lacing, looping this way and that until the body of the butterfly was encased in a neat silk package 'for later'.  (Second extra )

A day of feasts, for eyes as well as  mouths.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.