One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Extreme dieting

I am not talking slimming diet here. Oh no.
Not until my mid-forties at least, unless clogged arteries prevent me from ever reaching my mid-forties (people in their mid forties can be typically aged 46 to 49, ask Red)
No, I have been experimenting with Sell by dates.
Today for example, I had some Granny Aisle Cumberland sausage +1. No problemo.
I'm sure I could have managed these sausages at Granny Aisle +3 days without a bother.
I have been training, I'm the stomach bug athlete, the food poisoning marathon-man.

As a general rule I have found out that, with a bit of training, one can get away with:
- minced meat: Granny Aisle +1
- roast meat: Granny Aisle +2
- cured meat: Granny Aisle +4 to 5
- dairy products: Granny Aisle + forever (I have eaten some Bleu d'auvergne that was 6 months over the Sell by date. The thing is normally covered in mould anyway!)

My one big failure: jumbo Thai prawns at Granny Aisle + 2 minutes.
Never ever mess with eggs, fish, shellfish... and them damn jumbo prawns...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.