Birthday present...

Another year, another birthday...but the sun has shone all day, it's been mild and almost springlike and I've spent most of it outside.

After a morning trip to Sainsbury's some of us went for a long walk around Ring Haw, and actually managed to find a route with only one short stretch of flooding. Wildlife was very elusive, although we had distant views of a pair of red kites and a buzzard, spiralling on developing thermals. I lugged my large lens with me, but there was little opportunity to use it.

After a quick lunch, I helped Pete make the puddings for this evening's meal (fresh lime jelly with lychees and passion fruit granita) and then decided to head out to Ferry Meadows to see if the waxwings were still around. As I approached the area where I was expecting to find them I met another couple of naturalists who'd just been watching them, and pointed me in the right direction.

Unfortunately I was about half an hour too late, and the light levels were dropping rapidly, but I managed a few passable shots. It was wonderful watching them eating rose hips and then roosting in the tops of the nearby oaks, where they spent much time preening and scratching - they seem to be very itchy birds! I may go back again tomorrow morning (depending on light conditions) and see if I can get some better shots. Despite the limitations of light, seeing the waxwings so well was one of the best birthday presents I couod have asked for.

I'm now back home and looking forward to a home cooked Asian meal prepared by the rest of the family. They're all contributing a dish or two to produce a fusion of Thai and Vietnamese cuisine - a complete contrast from the Christmas fare of the last couple of weeks. I'm feeling very spoilt! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.