SWINGER

Oooh . . . how to get going on a morning !
Thanks for all my comments yesterday. Hopefully on the mend so will catch up with comments tomorrow. As the sun was brilliant I could not stop at home so my super chauffeur took me on a mystery tour.

This is the swing bridge across the River Esk at Whitby, on the NE Coast of UK.
This version of the bridge was built in 1908 and spans almost 22 metres. The last time I viewed this it was a pale green colour to match in with the surroundings. Today, as you can see, it is a vivid red colour. Red and White - my Boro combination !

This bridge can swing apart using electric motors controlled by a 'bridgeman' from a very elaborate bridge office on the North side.

Originally this was a drawbridge, then a wooden swing bridge and finally as a metalled swing bridge as the third design of bridge on this site.

Can you spot the wildlife on holiday in Whitby ?
Have a grand weekend all !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.