'Legend Trippers'

Dan has been in London for the last couple of weeks. Well, the first week he was in Sevenoaks, and this week he was based properly in town. He's been working with the National Youth Music Theatre, rehearsing for the first few days and then actually performing at The Other Palace.

I can't tell you how happy he's been. This is what he wants to do when he leaves school and it was the best possible work experience. Even during the hours of technical rehearsals he was still as happy as I've ever known him. Blissful, in fact.

This morning, I drove down to my folks', left the car there, in Worcester Park, and took the train up to Waterloo, whence I walked up to The Jagged Hare, near Victoria. There I met up with Milly, who was in London already, visiting friends, and Abi, who'd travelled down on the train with her mum. 

We had a drink and something to eat and then walked across to The Other Palace to see the show. Abi was sat with her mum and Milly and I were in seats up near the back but with a good view of the stage. 

I must confess that for the first couple of minutes, I thought the show, entitled 'Legend Trippers', was going to be terribly naff but, actually, it was excellent. The script was strong, the production was good, all of the performers were talented, and the music was tremendous (and so much better than I had expected). I really enjoyed it and let's not forget that I don't really like musicals.

Afterwards, we waited around for Dan, who had lots of goodbyes to make, and then he, Milly, and I took all his kit and luggage back down to Worcester Park. It could have been a chore but Dan was so happy that it was a lovely little journey.

****
-10.0 kgs
Today I finished 'The Gallows Pole' by Benjamin Myers. After a slow start, I found myself enjoying the book more and more, reading it in bigger and bigger chunks. It's set in the Calder Valley - an area I know well enough for that to make it even more interesting - around the time of the Industrial Revolution. In brief, it's a tale about how those in poverty are driven to crime and then punished for it. If, like me, you enjoy history more in the context of a (well researched) story, then I'd highly recommend this.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.