CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Do you want a lift?

Woodpeckers and I went to the shops together this morning in town, but I thought we might still find better choice in other places, which was a shame. It seemed strange being in town which still seemed half asleep after the holiday. I certainly am.

On the way home I drove us to pay our bill at our coal merchant, which entails driving off road along a very old track nestling under one of the steepest hillsides in the east side of town. It was originally constructed to gain access for horses and carts to the limestone quarry which lies below the 'new' Bisley Road, and just above the 'Conygre' (meaning 'rabbit enclosure', in medieval French, where they were farmed), which was sold as the land for Stroud Cemetery to be built upon.

I know the very friendly family that owns the coal selling business as I often stop for chats with them. Mr W. has told me about his family going back generations and showed me some of the woodlands that they still own, adjacent to the quarry and overlooking the Horns Valley, a bit further up towards the source from us. Some of their woodland is designated as 'ancient' as it shows species which are indicators of woods that have been in continuous usage for more than four hundred years. We met him again today as he was out in the warm fresh air doing some chores, gathering coal for their home as well as chopping kindling from piles of tree stumps in a barn. Woodpeckers and I both took some pictures and I thought one of Mr. W. chopping would make a good blip.

We passed the time of day and he told us a bit of history, which reminded me that I some tome ago I intended to come to talk with him to gain as much knowledge of the local landscape that I could obtain from his memory. Today we ended up discussing the stars and the extent of the universe, as one does in situations like this.

Some time later, I drove towards Brimscombe to pick up Woodpeckers from her regular Friday afternoon teaching job. I left a little early as I thought I would check on the state of the River Frome which flows right past the buildings where she works. I parked beside the small bridge which leads into the old mill area, which is now a light industrial trading estate with a small area where mobile homes are situated by the river.

I noticed the two swans, who seem to live there all year round, were in the fast flowing water about twenty yards away. I got out and as I approached the grassy bank one of the swans slowly reversed downstream until it was parallel with me, and then manoeuvred to the bank and waddled out. It stood in a threatening manner for a while shaking its tail feathers and standing up high on its legs, before starting to eye me rather forbiddingly. Then it picked up its feet and strode slowly and menacingly towards me. I retreated off the grass to the back of my car, whilst still taking pictures. The swan moved sideways and went up to the car and stood right beside the passenger side door. I thought I had better get in and as I did so, I heard the swan's beak starting to nibble quite aggressively at the side of the car. I looked across and suddenly its head appeared in the wing mirror so I couldn't resist taking more pictures rather than reversing away to stop its attack on the car. It appeared to particularly like biting the door handles, and I wondered whether their might be some attractive algae on my car which it was partial to. It carried on for several minutes so I finally thought it really didn't want me parked in what was obviously its space, even though it was a car park.

The lighting wasn't very good but I thought it worth blipping. I shall return to Mr. W. in due course and ask him for a portrait, possibly with his wife as well. I have posted the swan, as it came out of the water towards me, on my blipfolio here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.