Pendragon Castle

I needed a bike ride. I wasn't keen on Bank Holiday traffic. So I hatched a plan.

I was off at 7am to miss the hordes that would be descending on Bolton Abbey and enjoyed a thoroughly quiet journey through Wharfedale and on up to Fleet Moss. 

It was a delightfully cool morning which I made the most of as I knew it would be heating up later on. I realised my legs were getting a bit of a kicking as I started up the hill but steady, steady and I was enjoying a superb run down to Gayle and then Hawes for an early lunch.

It was in the area of Fleet Moss that I started smiling with the recollection of the book I'm reading which is based in the vicinity, Dales Detective Agency.  Along the valley, I saw a couple walking a weimaraner. It’s Tolpuddle the dog!  It's a very easy going read and the pleasure is as much in the locations and trying to work out where they are as it is in the story. I'm actually on book two now and it's just as much fun.

I realised I was toast coming into Hawes and decided the flatter route round to Kirkby Stephen was the way forward. Stopping at the cafe, I had a momentary lapse of judgement in front of my jacket potato, thinking that maybe Buttertubs was a good idea but quickly corrected that and headed off as planned.  I haven't ridden the road that way and thoroughly enjoyed it. I had my eye on Tommy Lane, a road I've not cycled, but, being a slight detour and a hill, I wasn't convinced my legs would agree.

They hung in there though, especially given I been stopping for photos all the way to it, so, by the time I reached the lane at the wonderfully named, Pendragon Castle, I decided to turn left. Fabulous it was too. 

Time for a tea and crumpets in Kirkby Stephen before the two mile slog back up the hill to the station. I made it in plenty of time and made the most of it, doing some stretches in the sunshine on an empty platform.

Now to enjoy the Settle-Carlisle rail journey home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.