Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau

First of all, thank you all for the lovely comments and encouragement for my 500 blip anniversary. It's been a long time coming, but has really accelerated over the last year, and is now part of my everyday routine.
Back to today. Had a beautiful breakfast at the campsite, which was in fact one of the best campsites in Switzerland so far, small, quiet, excellent views and facilities. Our son arrived, so he and Mr. S went and did a mountain bike ride. I took the lift up to the Niederhorn, it was really quite hot, and followed the ridge pass over to the Gemmenalphorn. This was the view to the south, and the view to the north into Justiztal was also just incredible, and a total contrast. Dropping down off the Gemmenalphorn (2061m), the next part crossed moor land, and lots of limestone pavements. I walked down the last part with a very quick old Swiss pair. We chatted all the way down back to Habkern, it turned out they were 79 and 81, and in amazing shape. They do the hike every year! 
p.s. there was a lot of complentation about alpinisim, as I realized I climbed the Mönch back in 1996, and then went to the Himalayas. This was the peak of my alpine career, and since then, I haven't done any more. I am not sure if I want to take this up again either, I think it's the struggle with altitude and headaches, but also the lack of real technical ability! I will stick to hiking and scrambling, I like to be in wild places, where not so many people go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.