Waiting for Some Beautiful Boy

Words can't describe how proud I am of my kids. 

I've tried various times on here - but invariably end up snottering over my keyboard. 

Boy's latest Adventure with Lovely J away to China fills me with both dread and pride.  

Off they toddled, not a word of Chinese between them:  big grins and great big hearts.   Travelled the length of the world, changed times zones so that I get them at the other end of the day now- and moved into an apartment in a local Chinese area where they find themselves to be the only white people - and more importantly a white male with a bushy beard. 

They have visited restaurants which only Chinese menus and ordered whatever they have pointed at and hoped it's edible. They have shopped in supermarkets and bought things by google translate.  They have discovered Uber doesn't exist in China but DIDI does.  

They have also found out that Physical contact is not enjoyed.  Boy is very hands on.   

I worried the first couple of days over the little frown on J's face; I didn't worry about Boy - he likes jumping in both feet first, worrying later. 

But now - I'm getting a stream of photos and video calls and the grins on their faces are as the wide as the ocean they have crossed.  The two of them are just LOVING Life. 

A whole new culture. a whole new weather system a whole new language. 

Living and loving their best lives! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.