Shottery

There was rain forecast for this afternoon, that was spot on when it arrived, so I decided to get out for a walk this morning.  Ann had taken off to visit a friend so I walked through Shottery Brook Walk and onto Anne Hathaway' s Cottage. My annual pass had expired so I renewed it, I do like going there anytime of the year, and you can't complain at £11.50, well I suppose I could but that would be petty!

As expected the place was busy with camera phone wielding tourists, but I headed straight for the woods which, as expected, were peaceful and deserted.  After visiting Noddy's house, see extras, another of his friends was knocking on the front door when I left, I walked over to the sculpture arboretum.  One thing that puzzles me about this sculpture of Brutus, why would he choose to sit naked on what looks like a sharp lump of rock when there are two comfortable benches nearby?  He is holding a leaf in his hand, is that significant? I thought he used a dagger!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.