Inadvertent Moth Trap

Moon Moth -- © Celia Warren 2019

Mad moth, moon moth,
beating on the glass,
powdering the window pane,
chasing after false moons,
bright in our house,
wingbeat a pattering of rain.

Mad moth, moon moth,
panic in your wings,
fly far away down the street,
As we draw the curtains,
escape the circus rings;
dance to the true moonbeat.

After blipping moths from my brother's outdoor overnight moth trap a few days ago, I'm now blipping a visitor to an inadvertent moth trap at my sister's - the result of a bedside lamp inside an open window. The silhoutte shows the moth inside the lampshade, while inset is the moth after it escaped the heat. After taking its photo I released it through a darker window to take its chances with the bats.

The poem above I wrote some years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.