A Sasanach's Skye photos

By Sasanach

A forest walk

A difficult decision today. The weather is dreich (dull, misty, damp). Not really a day to excite a landscape photographer.

This morning Lucy and I walked along the Glen Varragill forestry road and took one of the paths through the forest towards the bottom of the glen. Though it was a dull day it was even more gloomy under the canopy of the trees.

I had to set the ISO up to 3200 and still I used a 1/30th second exposure hand held, which was very risky. However the outcome in my opinion isn't bad. I like the variety of greens and the contrast of those with the leaf litter on the path. On the right are some fallen trees that have been cut up and that are now a habitat for moss. The trees have an abundance of lichen growing on them.

Interestingly the location map only shows part of the Glen Varragill forest. It is much more extensive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.