Mackerel Sky

It might require some time travel to check this out, we just call it a Mackerel Sky, but based on what I just read in  The Cloud Collector's Handbook, I think these are Cirrocumulus clouds. "Composed almost entirely of ice crystals, Cirrocumulus is actually a rare and fleeting cloud". Although the author, Gavin Pretor-Pinney gives several clues as to how to tell it apart from the lower level Altocumulus, occurring about six miles up, I'm basing my identification on the fact that my picture looks almost exactly like the one in this charming little book. Also the fact that they were rather fleeting and very unusual. If my picture of the book ever makes it out of the virtual cloud, I will put it in extras.... 

I went in search of nicotinamide a B3 vitamin recommend by my dermatologist to guard against 'non-melanoma carcinomas'. First I tried, Pharmaca Integrative Pharmacy, a vitamin and supplements store, because I try to support local businesses and also because it's right across the parking lot from the Pilates studio. They didn't have it but said they could order it and get it in "couple of weeks".  I went on to Whole Foods and was surprised to see how much smaller their vitamin section has gotten since they were purchased by Amazon. They didn't have it either but the guy there was pretty knowledgable and recommended trying online. It took about four minutes to find it and order it from Amazon. The irony of this is not lost on me....

Yesterday Ozzie alerted me to the fact that someone was at the front door. I got there in time to see a young woman limping up the front steps with her foot in a therapeutic boot delivering a small box with four legs of our patio table. Today  the same young woman still in a boot pulled up in her Fed Ex truck. Knowing that the table weighed 85 pounds, OilMan and I both rushed outside to 'help' even though neither one of is is supposed to be lifting anything heavy. After she deposited it in the driveway and drove off I commented to OIlMan that it didn't make Fed Ex look too good to have someone in a boot delivering heavy packages. "Well, at least they're hiring women", he said....

We'll have to call in the grandsons to carry it to the porch.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.