blousy

Blousy was the word which sprang to mind when I thought about describing these hydrangeas. Nothing subtle about them! I've always been fascinated by the way that the colour of hydrangeas depends on the pH of the soil in which they grow - acidic soils  have available aluminium ions which affect the flower pigments and produce blue or purple blooms; in an alkaline soil the flowers are pink or red.

I cycled to work again today and hope to do so more often now that my energy levels are returning to normal after 2 months on a gluten free diet. It feels great to be back on the bike and I arrive at work feeling so much more awake than when I drive. 

I've made two apple crumbles tonight - one we ate for tea and the other is going south tomorrow - watch this space :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.