If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Soggy Bumble Bee

Visiting Kanyl I was wandering the garden between showers looking for a blip.  I chased innumerable froglets but they all moved so fast and became hidden very quickly.  So I turned my attention to flowers.  I have already blipped the Romneya but thought there may be an insect perhaps a Hoverfly.

There in the cup of a flower was this very soggy Bumble Bee.  So soggy that I didn't even attempt to identify the species.  At first I thought it was dead.  I mentioned it to Kanyl who said "Is it still there?" clearly having seen it earlier.  As it was moving (just) he removed it and put a little honey on his hand.  The blip shows it guzzling honey as fast as the little tongue could cope. finally it was placed somewhere sheltered and dry to take its chance,  With a little more honey of course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.