Sandy town centre sign

When I did my first blip back in May of some local village signs I thought they were just a "this is where you are" type sign and that they depicted some of the relevant village interest. And indeed that may be so, but when I found the Potton (town) one at the weekend, and then today when I went into my town of Sandy (for a dentist check up), I took a picture of this one for my blip today.

This is similar to Potton in that it commemorates 100 years of town and parish council. This is what the waymarking.com says about the Sandy one...


In the centre of the sign is the church of St Swithun. A Roman is shown on the left depicting the arrival of the Romans from AD 43 who created the nearby hill fort, Caesar's Camp. A farmer stands on the right clutching a spade with a bag of potatoes at his feet, to denote the popular produce grown in these sandy soils. Above the church a barn owl oversees the affairs.

The sign was erected to celebrate the centenary from 1894 to 1994. There is a plaque on the sign which reads:

'Presented jointly by
Sandy Town Council and
Mid Bedfordshire
District Council
To Mark 100 Years Of Local
Government In Sandy
1894 - 1994.'

Ummm, I find local history quite interesting when I have the time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.