Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

The horse’s mouth

I was in the groove at work today but left the office early to go the dentist. Shame, as I was building up some momentum.

As usual the hygienist went at me with fervour and no subtlety. It is as if someone is shaking a set of fire irons around the inside of your mouth whilst simultaneously sand blasting your gums and sending miniature mountaineers with pitons across the surface of your teeth. I inevitably find myself thinking existentially about what pain and sensation actually are. What am I that feels this thing? It is not data going from my mouth to my brain. It hurts. There is something I know as pain which defies a reductionist explanation. It cannot be described, it is felt

All too philosophical. Regarding yesterday, thank you for sharing your frustration. I ended up in a dorky photo that was used in The Guardian and on the BBC website. Hilarious.

Glad to be working from home tomorrow ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.