Jetty Marsh Lock

I had to go to B&Q this afternoon and while I was there I decided I'd take a walk down the side of the little reed choked stream that runs alongside. It's Jetty Marsh Nature Reserve. There's a nice path and it's well wooded so you don't see much of the trading estates which surround it. I've never walked there before but I suspected I might find something of interest if I walked far enough. What I found was part of the derelict Stover Canal. It was built by James Templer at his own expense and served the expanding ball clay industry. It was very successful from 1792 until it closed in the 1940s.

This part is the Jetty Marsh basin and the lock. Restoration work is taking place on some of the 1.7 mile length of the canal so maybe one day this will be restored. 

I've tagged it for Derelict Sunday hosted by Marlieske.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.