Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

Today I spent my work hours binding flower bouquets. First I arranged Dahlias for a retirement bouquet for the area manager. Just trimmed the bottom stems from leaves and put them aside in a vase filled with water. I was under the impression that my boss would make the bouquet. Then I was asked to help with smaller bouquets and went to the park to cut some hedge branches to mix with the flowers. I was asked by my boss to make the large bouquet too, but I started with the smaller ones to practice some before the more important one. 
When I sat there I was approached by a costumer. She wondered if I was going to compete. I held 3 flowers in my hand and looked very confused until I understood what she ment. There's a 'Garden Day' at the Botanical garden on Sunday, and there're competitions of different kinds. The staff at the Botanical Garden has already asked me if I wanted to participate with my cucumbers this year, but they were too few and too small to be in any competition. Well, so when I remembered that I understood what she meant and told her no. When I started binding bouquet nr 2 she approach me again and wanted to by a bouquet. of course she could do that! And, I felt it was a compliment that she wanted to by one. I made four in total and then went to cut some lemongrass that my boss showed me, for the large Dahlia bouquet. I spent half an hour with this one and my colleagues thought it was very beautiful. One of them, one of my closest colleagues, told me I have talent. Sadly it was his last day today. He's moving on, and I'm happy for him, but I'll miss him very much. When we said goodbye, we saw the area manager coming over to the greenhouse. The bouquet was standing on one of the large tables and we made a dash for it... I got the vase and bouquet and we just ran into greenhouse nr 1, so he wouldn't see the bouquet in advance. I guess he saw us running away so he might have understood that something was up. :D 

As always, thank you Anni for hosting Flower Friday! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.