ColdCoffee

By ColdCoffee

Ending or beginning...

At the end of August every year I find myself surrounded by people who seem to be feeling an impending sadness that summer is waning and winter is on the horizon. They seem to already be longing for spring to come again, and dreading the harshness of the colder seasons.
I am not one of those people. I love winter. I thrive in winter. Give me rain soaked clothes and chilled wind in my lungs over sweating and sunburn any day. Winter to me is magical. The frosted mornings make me feel like everything can be made beautiful with a sprinkle of magic. The bracing wind and icy down pours make me feel alive. To me, there is nothing better than stepping through the front door after a winter wander to the smell of mulled wine simmering on the stove.
Winter means blankets, pies, thick socks, hot chocolate, board games, robins, snow days, twinkly lights. Winter is mystical.
So today I’m thankful for the end of August. The season of mists and mellow fruitfulness awaits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.