Flower Friday. : : Rudbeckia

OilMan and I managed to put together the new table for our porch without killing each other. Even when he fibbed about reading the directions and had to admit that there was a reason why he had so much trouble screwing some of the screws in. (Because they weren't supposed to go there...those were the holes for the bolts). I felt quite mild mannered and restrained when I suggested that I just didn't think that a quality product would be so poorly designed that it was almost impossible to put the screws in. 

Admittedly, I don't know the difference between a screw and a bolt, but I did know that these weren't working. Once OilMan removed them and switched them around, it all went together quite well....

I was just there to hold up the table so that he didn't have to bend over to insert the screws and bolts.

We were both afraid that the umbrella wouldn't fit in the umbrella hole, but once we figured out how to knock out the plug, it fit perfectly. The table, heavy as it is,  is not heavy enough to hold the umbrella straight, but I remembered that somewhere we had a heavy cement base we'd never gotten rid of because it was so, er, heavy. I located it, carried it to the porch, and am still congratulating myself for doing that without joining OilMan in the land of back pain....

We're about to repair to the porch to have a glass of wine and admire our new table. When did we start having to assemble our furniture anyway?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.