Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Leopard-y photos

Last day of August; last day with my Borkumar Bayonet 28/2.8. (I actually do love it, despite it being borked.)

We bought a new printer today, so Mrs tsuken can print letters and envelopes without having to swap A4 paper and envelopes every half a minute.

Since we were getting a new printer anyway, I decided - as you do - that we might as well get one that does A3 size and good photo printing.

Welp...

As you can see here, I has a problem. I'm thinking the problem lies in the quality of the A3 photo paper the office supplies sold me, but I would really welcome any more-knowledgeable notions. Printing on plain paper (the A4 version of Missy-moo and the cave) is fine; printing on glossy photo paper in the smaller sizes I already had (Canon the 4x6 and Dick Smith the A4) is also fine; printing on the glossy A3 is ... decidedly not-fine. Lighter areas are ok, but the shadows are leopard-y.

Blottr; Flickr.

I'm betting it's a deficiency in the paper, such that the black ink is essentially pooling. I'm blaming the paper, since every other aspect of printing (bar plain A3, which I just don't have, to try) is spot-on.

Borkumar Bayonet 28/2.8
Pentax K-30

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.